12578077 13047090

Becca: Can I start out by saying I love this series? It’s like God’s gift to mankind. *giggles* Now to get down to the review. It’s aliens, if you didn’t already know that.

Andrea: If you don’t want to read this book from the cover alone…I don’t even know. If I ever met the model who poses as Daemon on these covers, I would marry him (Becca agrees with me).

Becca: So I suppose we will start with the first one so we don’t give away any spoilers about the second one, and do that later on in this post. If you haven’t heard the summary, I’m honestly not sure why you are here but alright, here we go.

Summary: “Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.”

(and that is straight from Goodreads kids)

My first thoughts on the summary was give me now, please and thank you! And let me tell you if the summary didn’t get you interested then if you enjoy sarcastically, green eyed, hotties, then you will enjoy this book. I think that one of my most favorite parts of books would have the be the voice of the characters, if it be like this one in first person via Kat, or third person like other books it means a lot to me if you can give the story a voice that is uniquely it’s and well done. Well if this is also important to you, then trust me this is the book for you. I would say read it for the voice alone but oh Jennifer Armentrout is good to us, she really is. Not only is the voice strong in this story, and very entertaining and not to mention relate-able then the characters are.

The characters are fun and interesting, Kat is particularly awesome, she loves to read (okay don’t even give me that look, i know you are its, the ‘are you kidding me?’ look – and thinking “Becca seriously every young adult book series main character reads a lot!” Well ;P on you because that is not entirely true. But the point is I really liked her character, she was easy going, nice, and not overwhelmingly trying to be this bad-ass chick who doesn’t give a care in the world….okay different rant for different time). Now to Daemon and i know you all want to learn about him! Well he is the – I consulted Andrea and she agrees when I say this – he is all around awesome. He is fiercely protective of his family and I totally respect that. He is clever, annoying as hell, and quite frankly does not own enough shirts (thank god!). Daemon’s twin sister Dee is a live wire who loves pink. And don’t let that turn you away from her, she is an amazing friend and someone I truly enjoyed reading about.

So moving on to my thoughts on the plot. Well this was the first Alien book I had read. Shocking I know if you watched the VLog you know I also love scifi but I’ve never really done aliens before. So maybe its the lack of knowledge on Alien books – but I have been reading more of them lately. I thought that (and I am sorry if I am a little off about this but I read it in early August) the pacing was really well down, I wasn’t overwhelmed with knew knowledge all at once to the point where I was like, whoa slow down, I didn’t get any of that. The first one is really an introduction into the world, and sometimes I am even like come on move on! I want to more action, more of “the plot thickens” stuff, but don’t worry this book wasn’t like that at least not for me. Sorry about the romance, there are great hate-hate scenes which are to die for in my opinion, but we get more tolerance at the end, if not almost like-like relationship. So the ending will leave you begging for more, not because of no cliff-hanger endings but a thirst to learn more about our lovely alien friends and their favorite human Kitty-Kat.

So stop right now if you don’t want any spoilers or want to know what might happen in the next book. Andrea is going to give her review on Onyx – all I will say is I loved it!

Andrea: Like Obsidian, Onyx will keep you awake into the wee hours of the morning, wanting to know what’s going to happen next. Here’s the summary from Goodreads for Onyx just so you can get an idea of what Onyx will be like if you read it (which I highly suggest that you do):

“Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…”

Like in Obsidian, Daemon is as sexy as ever, and Jennifer Armentrout writes all of her characters (especially Daemon) in a way that either makes you fall absolutely in love with them or hate them with a burning passion. There really is no in-between with how you feel about her characters.

The romance of the main couple (Kat and Daemon) in Onyx seems to have switched with how it was in Obsidian. In Obsidian, Kat was obsessed with Daemon and getting to be with him initially. In Onyx, Daemon is constantly trying to convince Kat that they are right for each other. Even though I loved the cocky, masochistic Daemon of Obsidian, the sexy, seductive Daemon of Onyx is even better.

Although Onyx is filled with romance, there is also the suspenseful, adventurous part that keeps you reading. I won’t give too much away about the end if you haven’t read it, but someone new does appear that will completely blow you away.

There isn’t even anything I can say that is bad about this book. Everything is absolutely brilliant. I’m sure if I was being super duper nitpicky, I could find something, but I won’t get that nitpicky.

The Lux series is one that you should definitely try. One of my favorite series.

