Tags

, , , , ,

Look at this cover! Such beauty *sighs*

Summary provided by Goodreads:

Seventeen-year-old Raine Cooper has enough on her plate dealing with her father’s disappearance, her mother’s erratic behavior and the possibility of her boyfriend relocating. The last thing she needs is Torin St. James—a mysterious new neighbor with a wicked smile and uncanny way of reading her.

Raine is drawn to Torin’s dark sexiness against her better judgment, until he saves her life with weird marks and she realizes he is different. But by healing her, Torin changes something inside Raine. Now she can’t stop thinking about him. Half the time, she’s not sure whether to fall into his arms or run.

Scared, she sets out to find out what Torin is. But the closer she gets to the truth the more she uncovers something sinister about Torin. What Torin is goes back to an ancient mythology and Raine is somehow part of it. Not only are she and her friends in danger, she must choose a side, but the wrong choice will cost Raine her life

2.5 or 3 Stars

This was another buddy read with my fabulous and kick-ass friend Becca
This isn’t our first book about paranormal romance, magic, YA or love triangles, just so you know…and we had, almost all the time, something to rant about. It was sad because we thought we would really like it, after all, who doesn’t like magic? I mean, is magic!
However, the magic wasn’t the problem here, it was the characters without a doubt.

Raine with an E:
From the beginning, I didn’t like her! I constantly killed her in my mind because of her behavior toward Torin and her confusing feelings (about pretty much everything): “What is Torin doing with those bitches!? I’ll kill them, but why do I want to kill them? I don’t understand my body’s reaction! Eirik kiss me now,”
(I might have changed a little bit how she felt, but that’s basically what I imagined when I read what was in Raine’s mind).
Plus, I didn’t like Raine’s lack of curiosity about what was really happening. Oh, so you want normal. Well honey, there isn’t normal in your life anymore
Put on your big-girl panties and affront the world you live in because if you run things will, for sure, get worse.

SPOILER! I can’t believe she flirted and kissed Tori before “breaking up” with Eirik. That’s a big no, girl! Get your priorities straight. END OF SPOILER

Eirik:
Do you remember that guy? Probably no because he’s all grown up since he played Colin Creevey in Harry Potter…but if you still don’t remember here’s a gif:
That’s how, kind of, Eirik looks in my head because both are obsessed over cameras and photography. However, while the little kid was cute and funny; Eirik was just…awkward
We know from the start that he was Raine’s best friend since they were little, his parents didn’t take care of him and he, usually, spent more time in Raine’s house than in his own. Since Raine and him were very close they thought (especially Raine) that they had to be together forever as a couple. I, personally, don’t think that BFF position have to, with time, escalate to something romantic. Nevertheless, most YA books portrayed this as something obvious (even thought, most of the time, the female character ends up with another after dealing with her feelings). I just see it as a very repetitive formula. Plus, when I read about Eirik I felt like I was reading about the definition of awkward in my dictionary (if he had a face they should put his picture right there).

Cora:
She’s a blogger, liked tons of boys, had a crush on Eirik, was popular, liked make up and dresses…did I mention she’s a blogger?

Torin:
I, absolutely, LOVE this character. He was, at the beginning a pain in the butt, but a sexy pain in the butt if you know what I mean. Yeah, he’s very pretencious, cocky, and a jerk (on the exterior), but inside he’s just as cute and bad as a kitten left at home without any kind of supervision :D
I just wished his character had more depth…just a little more.

Conclusion:
I liked the plot and several ideas that, unfortunately, didn’t fulfill my expectations, and I really liked to read about Norse mythology, I think it was fascinating. However, it didn’t caught completely my attention because I’m really tired of love triangles and all the unnecessary drama that comes with it. Plus, the characters when trying to explain everything just used riddles…so, at the end, there wasn’t any explanation until the very very end. Also, I consider that some characters were really bland, annoying and underdeveloped.

Am I going to read the sequel?
I already did it. If you rated this book as 3.5 or more, you will probably like the next one. Nevertheless, if you rated it less, I don’t think this series might be for you.